Search This Website

Monday, July 5, 2021

Gujarat Sahitya Special PDF by Exam Warriors

 Gujarat Sahitya Special PDF by Exam Warriors

The Gujarat Sahitya Akademi or Gujarat Sahitya Academy, established in 1981, is a government institution dedicated to the development of the languages spoken in Gujarat, India and their literature. Gujarati, an official language of Gujarat, is one of them; the others are Hindi, Sanskrit, Kutchi, Sindhi and Urdu. As of 2017, Vishnu Pandya is the chairman of the Akademi.


The Akademi was founded on 24 September 1981 by the Government of Gujarat. It was inaugurated on 17 June 1982 with the appointment of a chairman, a vice chairman and other members.


The main aim of the Akademi is to:

  • Encourage organizations and writers in Gujarat to promote the development of Gujarati, Sanskrit and other modern languages
  • Promote the research of Gujarati folk literature
  • Collect and publish books of literature
  • Assemble and maintain a library
  • Recognize and aid literary societies
  • Publish criticism of various forms of literature
  • Organize birthday celebrations for noted authors
  • Award prizes for books published in different forms of literature
  • Award financial scholarships to students of literature
  • Financially assist elderly, physically handicapped, and indigent authors living in Gujarat.
  • Annually award Sahitya Gaurav Puraskar to an established author and Yuva Gaurav Puraskar to a young writer.
  • Since 2016, the Akademi has conferred the Sahityaratna Award to Gujarati authors for their significant contribution; and the Ramanlal Nilkanth Hasya Paritoshik which is conferred to Gujarati authors for their significant contribution in Gujarati humorous literature.

The Gujarat Academy oversees five other academies; namely the Hindi Sahitya Academy for Hindi, the Sanskrit Sahitya Academy 
for Sanskrit, the Kutchi Sahitya Academy
 for Kutchi, the Sindhi Sahitya Academy 
for Sindhi and the Urdu Sahitya Academy
 for Urdu. The registrar is the administrative head of all five academies. There are three standing committees, each of which has ten members, including five official members, for folk literature, Sanskrit language and literature, and other modern Indian languages.

The chairman, the vice chairman and the registrar have day to day control of the Akademi. The Akademi's overall controlling authorities are the general body and the executive council. The term of the general body is 5 years. The general body is made of 41 members including the education commissioner of Gujarat, the financial adviser of the education department, the registrar of Akademi, the higher education commissioner of Gujarat, the director of language of Gujarat, five members from the Gujarati literary community selected by the state government, 9 members selected by the committee appointed by representative of different Gujarati literary institutions, 8 members representing of the University of Gujarat, 3 members selected by the members of the general body of the Akademi, 9 members selected by a committee appointed by Gujarati writers, 2 members who have been awarded the Sahitya Gaurav Puraskar. The executive council is made up of a maximum of ten members including the chairman, the registrar and the vice-chairman of the Akademi, the education commissioner of Gujarat, the financial adviser of the education department, the education commissioner of Gujarat and five members of the general body selected by the state government.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Join With Us